Our Mission
The Great Lakes Rural Community Assistance Program (RCAP) assists rural low-income individuals and underserved populations in developing and maintaining community infrastructure to improve rural quality of life through a network of community action agencies.

Contact Info

Great Lakes RCAP Regional Office
WSOS Community Action Commission
219 South Front Street, P.O. Box 590
Fremont, OH 43420
Fax (419) 334-5124
Call Toll Free 800-775-9767

About Us

RCAP, the Rural Community Assistance Program, began as a local demonstration project in Roaoke, Virgina in 1969, and has grown into a national network of non-profit organizations that serve rural and Native American communities in all 50 states and Puerto Rico. RCAP works with communities to address their drinking water, wastewater treatment, and other community services and development needs.

The Great Lakes RCAP, which includes Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia, and Wisconsin, was formed in 1980. WSOS Community Action Commission headquarted in Fremont, Ohio serves as the regional management entity. WSOS delivers on-site community services directly within the states of Illinois, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin, and partners with the following state community action associations to deliver service in the other three states: INCAA in Indiana, CAK in Kentucky, and WVCAP in West Virginia.

RCAP works with communities to:

  • Provide technical assistance to help community leaders identify problems
  • Find affordable solutions
  • Complete the project successfully

RCAP focuses on:

  • Lowering project costs
  • Achieving & maintaining compliance
  • Minimizing impact on low-income residents
  • Using appropriate technology
  • Implementing self-help strategies
  • Building local capacity
  • Advocating rural needs at the state and federal levels